Portmeirion was created by the architect Clough Williams-Ellis from 1925 to 1976. He wanted to show how a naturally beautiful site could be developed without spoiling it.
A remarkable underground experience. Abandoned in 1903 but now reopened to visitors, Sygun tells the story of Victorian miners. Nowadays, it’s hard to believe that such gritty industrial heritage exists amongst so much natural beauty.